Jesus, Lord and Precious Saviour   2 comments

Christ Pantocrator Icon

Above:  Icon of Christ Pantocrator

Scan by Kenneth Randolph Taylor

Swedish Text by Johann Olaf Wallin (1779-1839)

English Translation (1891) by Augustus Nelson (1863-1949)

Hymn Source = The Hymnal and Order of Service (1925), The Evangelical Lutheran Augustana Synod

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Jesus, Lord and precious Saviour,

All my comfort and my joy!

Graciously extend Thy favor,

Let Thy Word My soul employ.

Jesus, come, abide with me,

Let me ever be with Thee.

+++++

All I do, O let me ever,

Jesus, in Thy Name, begin;

Give success to my endeavor,

Final victory therein.

Jesus, come, abide with me,

Let me ever be with Thee.

+++++

Let my words and thoughts, O Saviour,

To Thy praise and glory tend;

Help me, Lord, that I may gather

Treasures that shall never end.

Jesus, come, abide with me,

Let me ever be with Thee.

+++++

When my days on earth are over,

Let me enter into rest.

Bear me home, O blessed Saviour,

When to Thee it seemeth best.

Jesus, come, abide with me,

Let me ever be with Thee.

2 responses to “Jesus, Lord and Precious Saviour

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Johann Olaf Wallin | GATHERED PRAYERS

  2. Pingback: Augustus Nelson | GATHERED PRAYERS

Leave a Reply

