My Spirit Longs for Thee   1 comment

Crucifix III July 15, 2014

Above:  One of My Crucifixes, July 15, 2015

Image Source = Kenneth Randolph Taylor

Words (published in 1773) by John Byrom (1692-1763)

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The Church Hymnary–Revised Edition (1927) contains this part of the text:

My spirit longs for Thee

Within my troubled breast,

Though I unworthy be

Of so Divine a Guest.

+++++

Of so Divine a Guest

Unworthy though I be,

Yet has my heart no rest,

Unless it come from Thee.

+++++

Unless it come from Thee,

In vain I look around;

In all that I can see

No rest is to be found.

+++++

No rest is to be found

But in Thy blessed love:

O let my with be crowned,

And send it from above!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The Handbook to the Church Hymnary–Revised Edition (1927) contains the reply, which Byrom wrote in the voice of Jesus:

Cheer up, desponding soul,

Thy longing pleased I see;

‘Tis part of that great whole,

Wherewith I longed for Thee:

+++++

Wherewith I longed for Thee,

And left my Father’s throne;

From death to set thee free,

To claim thee for my own:

+++++

To claim thee for my own,

I suffered on the Cross:

Oh were my love but known ,

No soul could fear its loss:

+++++

No soul could fear its loss,

But filled with love divine,

Would die on its own cross,

And rise for ever mine.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

One response to “My Spirit Longs for Thee

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Feast of John Byrom (September 26) | SUNDRY THOUGHTS

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.