Thy Way is Best, My Father   1 comment

Christ Pantocrator

Above:  Christ Pantocrator

Image in the Public Domain

Hymn Source =  Lyra Hibernica Sacra (1878), edited by William McIlwaine

Words by Charitie Lees Smith Bancroft de Chenez (1840-1923)

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

1. Thy way is best, my Father,

Though full of pain and care;

Thy will is right, my Father,

However hard to bear.

Thy path is best, my Father,

Though far apart from mine;

Thy judgments, O my Father,

With truth and mercy shine.

2. Thy gifts are best, my Father,

Though not the gifts I’d choose;

Thy choice is right, my Father,

Whether I gain or lose.

Thy word is good, my Father,

That bids me live or die;

And I am blest, my Father,

In bowing silently.

3. Thy thoughts are deep, my Father,

Thy love is calm and wise;

My future life, my Father,

Unveiled before Thee lies.

Thy time is best, my Father,

Thy purpose to fulfil;

O give me strength, my Father,

To bow me to Thy will.

One response to “Thy Way is Best, My Father

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Charitie Lees Smith Bancroft de Chenez | GATHERED PRAYERS

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.