Not Worthy, Lord, by Edward Henry Bickersteth   2 comments

Ceiling of the Church of St. Peter, also known as Exeter Cathedral, in England

Image Source = Official Website of the Cathedral (http://www.exeter-cathedral.org.uk/)

Hymn Source = Service Book and Hymnal (1958), of predecessor bodies of the American Lutheran Church (1960) and the Lutheran Church in America (1962)

Edward Henry Bickersteth (1825-1905) was a poet and hymn writer, as well as a priest and bishop of the Church of England.  He was Bishop of Exeter from 1885 to 1900.

http://neatnik2009.wordpress.com/2013/03/29/feast-of-edward-henry-bickersteth-may-14/

KRT

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

1.  Not worthy, Lord, to gather up the crumbs

With trembling hand, that from thy table fall,

A weary, heavy-laden sinner comes

To plead thy promise and obey thy call.

2.  I am not worthy to be thought thy child,

Nor sit the last and lowest at thy board;

Too long a wanderer, and too oft beguiled,

I only ask one reconciling word.

3.  I hear thy voice; thou bidd’st me come and rest;

I come, I kneel, I clasp thy pierced feet;

Thou bidd’st me take my place, a welcome guest

Among thy saints, and of thy banquet eat.

4.  My praise can only breathe itself in prayer,

My prayer can only lose itself in thee;

Dwell thou forever in my heart, and there,

Lord, let me sup with thee; sup thou with me.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Below:  The High Altar at Exeter Cathedral

2 responses to “Not Worthy, Lord, by Edward Henry Bickersteth

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Feast of Edward Henry Bickersteth (May 14) | SUNDRY THOUGHTS

  2. Pingback: Edward Henry Bickersteth | GATHERED PRAYERS

Leave a Reply

