O Thou, to Whose All-Searching Sight   2 comments

Crucifix I July 15, 2014

Above:  A Crucifix, Which I Have Donated to My Parish Library Since I Took This Picture

Image Source = Kenneth Randolph Taylor

Original German Text (1721) by Count Nicholas Ludwig von Zinzendorf (1700-1760)

English Translation (1738) by John Wesley (1703-1791)

Hymn Source = Hymnal and Liturgies of the Moravian Church (Unitas Fratrum) (1923)

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

O Thou, to Whose all-searching sight

The darkness shineth as the light!

Search, prove my heart; it pants for Thee;

O, burst these bonds, and set it free.

+++++

Wash out its stains, refine its dross;

Nail my affections to the Cross;

Hallow each thought; let all within

Be clean, as Thou, my Lord, art clean.

+++++

If in this darksome wild I stray,

Be Thou my Light, be Thou my Way;

No foes, no violence I fear,

No harm, while Thou, my God, art near.

+++++

Teach me where’er Thy steps I see,

Dauntless, untired, to follow Thee;

O let Thy hand support me still,

And lead me to Thy holy hill.

+++++

If rough and thorny be my way,

My strength proportion to my day;

Till toil, and grief, and pain shall cease

Where all is calm and joy and peace.

2 responses to “O Thou, to Whose All-Searching Sight

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: John Wesley | GATHERED PRAYERS

  2. Pingback: Nicholas Ludwig von Zinzendorf | GATHERED PRAYERS

Leave a Reply

