O Jesus, My Lord, For Ever Adored   1 comment

allsts - 1 (15)

Above:  All Saints’ Episcopal Church, Atlanta, Georgia, May 8, 2016

Image Source = Bill Monk, Episcopal Diocese of Atlanta

Original German Text (1737) by Count Nicholas Ludwig von Zinzendorf (1700-1760)

English Translation (1808)

Hymn Source = Hymnal and Liturgies of the Moravian Church (Unitas Fratrum) (1923)

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

O Jesus, my Lord,

For ever adored,

My Portion, my All,

At Thy holy feet with abasement I fall.

+++++

As sure as I prove

Thy mercy and love,

As Thou life didst gain

For me, and my comfort dost ever remain,–

+++++

So sure may I be

Devoted to Thee,

And cheerfully stand,

Prepared to comply with Thy every command.

+++++

Keep me through Thy power

So minded each hour,

That I naught beside

May know but Thee only, and Thee Crucified.

+++++

Soul, spirit and mind

To Thee be resigned,

Thy throne there erect,

Till Thou Thy whole purpose in me dost effect.

+++++

Make me Thine abode,

A temple of God,

A vessel of grace,

Prepared for Thy service, and formed to Thy praise.

+++++

The covenant is made

With Thee as my Head;

Lord, grant my request,

To love and to serve Thee, till with Thee I rest.

One response to “O Jesus, My Lord, For Ever Adored

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Nicholas Ludwig von Zinzendorf | GATHERED PRAYERS

Leave a Reply

