In Hope My Soul, Redeemed to Bliss Unending   1 comment

Calvary Cemetery, Queens

Above:  Calvary Cemetery, Queens, New York, New York, 2006

Image in the Public Domain

Danish Text (1645) by Elle Andersdotter (1600-1650?)

English Translation (Before 1899) by George Henry Trabert (1743-1931)

Hymn Source = The Hymnal and Order of Service (1925), The Evangelical Lutheran Augustana Synod

++++++++++++++++++++++

In hope my soul, redeemed to bliss unending,

To heaven’s glorious height by faith ascending,

Is mindful ever

That Christ did sever

The bonds of death, that I might live forever.

+++++

In Him I have salvation’s way discovered,

The heritage for me He hath recovered.

Though death o’ertakes me,

Christ ne’er forsakes me,

To everlasting life He surely wakes me.

+++++

More radiant there than sun e’er shone in brightness,

My soul shall shine before God’s throne in whiteness,

My God, who knows me,

In glory clothes me,

As He declared when for His own He chose me.

+++++

O may I come when strife and grief are ended,

Where all thy saints shall meet, with peace attended!

Lord, grant Thy favor

And mercy ever,

And turn my sorrow into joy forever.

+++++

Lord Jesus Christ, keep me prepared and waking,

Till from the vale of tears Thy bride Thou’rt taking

To dwell in heaven,

Where joy is given,

And clouds of darkness are forever riven.

One response to “In Hope My Soul, Redeemed to Bliss Unending

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: George Henry Trabert | GATHERED PRAYERS

Leave a Reply

