Seek Where Ye May to Find a Way   2 comments

Seek Where Ye May Find a Way

Above:  Part of the Hymn

Image Source = Kenneth Randolph Taylor

Hymn Source = The Lutheran Hymnal (1941), The Lutheran Church–Missouri Synod and other members of The Evangelical Lutheran Synodical Conference of North America

Original German Words (1623) by Georg Weissel (1590-1635)

English Translation (1938) by Arthur Voss (1899-1955)

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

1.  Seek where ye may

To find a way

That leads to your salvation;

My heart is stilled,

On Christ I build,

He is the one Foundation.

His Word is sure,

His works endure;

He doth o’erthrow

My ev’ry foe;

Thro’ Him I more than conquer.

2.  Seek whom ye may

To be your stay;

None can redeem his brother.

All helpers failed,

This Man prevailed,

The God-man, and none other.

Our Servant-Lord

Did help afford;

We’re justified,

For He hath died,

The Guiltless for the guilty.

3.  Seek Him alone,

Who did atone,

Who did your souls deliver;

Yea, seek Him first,

All ye who thirst

For grace that faileth never.

In ev’ry need

Seek Him indeed;

To ev’ry heart

He will impart

His blessings without measure.

4.  My heart’s Delight,

My Crown most bright,

Thou, Jesus, art forever.

Nor wealth nor pride

Nor aught beside

Our bond of love shall sever.

Thou art my Lord;

Thy precious Word

Shall be my guide,

Whate’er betide.

Oh, teach me, Lord, to trust Thee!

5.  Hide not from me,

I ask of Thee,

Thy gracious face and favor.

Though floods of woe

Should o’er me flow,

My faith shall never waver.

From pain and grief

Grant sweet relief;

For tears I weep,

Lord, let me reap

Thy heavenly joy and glory.

2 responses to “Seek Where Ye May to Find a Way

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Georg Weissel | GATHERED PRAYERS

  2. Pingback: Feast of Georg Weissel (August 2) | SUNDRY THOUGHTS

Leave a Reply

