When All Thy Mercies, O My God! My Rising Soul Surveys   1 comment


Above:  The Right Reverend Robert C. Wright, Bishop of Atlanta, at St. Christopher’s at the Crossroads Episcopal Church, Perry, Georgia, October 27, 2013

Image Source = Bill Monk, Episcopal Diocese of Atlanta


Words (1712) by Joseph Addison (1672-1719); Stanzas 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 of the original thirteen present


Hymn Source = The Church Hymnary (1927), Presbyterian


1.  When all Thy mercies, O my God!

My rising soul surveys,

Transported with the view, I’m lost

In wonder, love, and praise.

2.  O how shall words, with equal warmth,

The gratitude declare

That glows within my ravished heart!

But Thou canst read it there.

3.  Unnumbered comforts to my soul

Thy tender care bestowed,

Before my infant heart conceived

From whom these comforts flowed.

4.  When in the slippery paths of youth

With heedless steps I ran,

Thine arm, unseen, conveyed us safe,

And led me up to man.

5.  When worn with sickness, oft hast Thou

With health renewed my face;

And, when in sins and sorrows sunk,

Revived my soul with grace.

6.  Ten thousand thousand precious gifts

My daily thanks employ;

Nor is the least a cheerful heart,

That tastes those gifts with joy.

7.  Through every period of my life

Thy goodness I’ll pursue;

And after death, in distant worlds,

The glorious theme renew.

One response to “When All Thy Mercies, O My God! My Rising Soul Surveys

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Feast of Joseph Addison and Alexander Pope (May 21) | SUNDRY THOUGHTS

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: