The Sun Has Gone Down   1 comment

4a23958v

Above:  Night, Between 1919 and 1920

Publisher and Copyright Claimant = Detroit Publishing Company

Image Source = Library of Congress

(http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/det1994006529/PP/)

Reproduction Number = LC-D4-72241

Original Words by Samuel Olsen Bruun (1656-1694)

English Translation (1908) by Ole T. (Sanden) Arneson

http://www.hymnary.org/person/Arneson_OT

Hymn Source = Hymnal for Church and Home, Third Edition (1938), of the American Evangelical Lutheran Church and the United Evangelical Lutheran Church, denominations with Danish heritage

http://blogatheologica.wordpress.com/2013/07/22/assembled-in-this-thy-house-danish-american-lutherans-1870-1962/

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

1.  The sun has gone down,

And peace has descended on country and town,

The songbirds in silence have flown to their nest,

And flowers are closing their petals in rest;

So closes my heart to annoyance and care,

In homage and prayer.

2.  I praise for this day

The Father in heaven, who prospered my way,

Who shielded from danger, protected from harm,

Promoted my labor, and strenthen’d my arm;

For hours that passed lightly as birds on the wing,

Thanksgiving I bring.

3.  Forgive me, O Lord,

My sins and transgressions in deed and in word!

Thou knowest my heart and my innermost thought,

The words I have spoken, the deeds I have wrought;

My errors and failings I deeply regret;

Forgive and forget.

One response to “The Sun Has Gone Down

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Ole T. (Sanden) Arneson | GATHERED PRAYERS

Leave a Reply

