Jesus, Tender Shepherd, Hear Me   1 comment

3b35319r

Above:  Evening Prayer, Circa 1906

Image Copyrighted by W. H. Partridge, Boston, Massachusetts

Image Source = Library of Congress

(http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2002718310/)

Reproduction Number = LC-USZ62-88923

Hymn Source = The Church Hymnary (1927), Presbyterian

Words (1839) by Mary Lundie Duncan (1814-1840), for her children

http://neatnik2009.wordpress.com/2013/07/06/feast-of-mary-lundie-duncan-january-31/

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

1.  Jesus, tender Shepherd, hear me;

Bless Thy little lamb to-night;

Through the darkness be Thou near me;

Watch my sleep till morning light.

2.  All this day Thy hand has led me,

And I thank Thee for Thy care;

Thou hast clothed me, warmed and fed me;

Listen to my evening prayer.

3.  Let my sins be all forgiven;

Bless the friends I love so well;

Take me, when I die, to heaven,

Happy there with Thee to dwell.

One response to “Jesus, Tender Shepherd, Hear Me

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Feast of Mary Lundie Duncan (January 31) | SUNDRY THOUGHTS

Leave a Reply

