The Day is Past and Over   1 comment

Above:  Sunset

Image Source = Chad Teer

(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Sunset_in_Coquitlam.jpg)

Hymn Source = Lutheran Service Book and Hymnal (1958)

Original Greek words by St. Anatolius (died 458), a Patriarch of Constantinople, an opponent of Nestorianism, and a man who died at the hands of members of a Monophysite mob

English translation by John Mason Neale (1818-1866)

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

1.  The day is past and over;

All thanks, O Lord, to thee!

I pray thee that offenceless

The hours of dark may be.

O Jesus, keep me in thy sight,

And guard me thro’ the coming night!

2.  The joys of day are over;

I lift my heart to thee,

And call on thee that sinless

The hours of night may be.

O Jesus, make their darkness light,

And guard me thro’ the coming night.

3.  The toils of day are over;

I raise the hymn to thee,

And ask that free from peril

The hours of fear may be.

O Jesus, keep me in thy sight,

And guard me through the coming night.

4.  Be thou my soul’s preserver,

O God, for thou dost know

How many are the perils

Through which I have to go,

Lover of men, O hear my call,

And guard and save me from them all.

One response to “The Day is Past and Over

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: John Mason Neale « GATHERED PRAYERS

Leave a Reply

