All Praise to Thee, My God, This Night, by Thomas Ken   Leave a comment

Thomas Ken

Image in the Public Domain

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Thomas Ken (1637-1711), non-juring Bishop of Bath and Wells from 1685 to 1691, was among the earliest authors of English hymns distinct from those based on the Psalter.

Hymn Source = The Hymnal 1982, of The Episcopal Church

1.  All praise to thee, my God, this night,

for all the blessings of the light:

keep me, O keep me, King of Kings,

beneath thine own almighty wings.

2.  Forgive me Lord, for thy dear Son,

the ill that I this day have done;

that with the world, myself, and thee,

I ere I sleep at peace may be.

3.  O may my soul on thee repose,

and with sweet sleep mine eyelids close;

sleep that shall me more vigorous make

to serve my God when I awake.

4.  Praise God, from whom all blessings flow;

praise him, all creatures here below;

praise him above, ye heavenly host;

praise Father, Son, and Holy Ghost.

Leave a Reply

